Sat. Apr 13th, 2024

Bihar Floor Test: Nitish Kumar Wins Trust Vote, Retains Chief Minister Position

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar has won the trust vote in the state assembly, securing 160 votes in favor of his government and 108 votes against it. The floor test, which was held on Thursday, was conducted following the breakdown of the Grand Alliance between the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the Congress, and the Janata Dal (United) or JD(U).

The RJD, which is the largest party in the opposition, had moved a no-confidence motion against the government, alleging that the JD(U) had betrayed the trust of the people of Bihar by forming an alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

However, Kumar, who has been the Chief Minister of Bihar for over 15 years, was able to secure the support of a majority of the MLAs in the assembly. The JD(U) has 45 MLAs, and it also received the support of the BJP, which has 77 MLAs, and the NDA, which has 122 MLAs.

The RJD, which has 79 MLAs, and the Congress, which has 19 MLAs, voted against the government. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) also voted against the government.

Kumar, who is known for his political acumen and his ability to form and break alliances, has once again emerged as a dominant force in Bihar politics. His victory in the floor test has dashed the hopes of the opposition, which had been hoping to capitalize on the disarray in the ruling coalition – The Blaze Times

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *